Is there a problem with split categories when entering transactions in investments?

rjcharle
rjcharle Member
I cannot get Quicken to accept split transactions correctly. I'm trying to enter Y/E 401k withdrawal and split out withholding and the money I get to keep. I use the "Enter Transaction" button and enter the data as usual, but the system keeps overriding the total I had entered with data from another transaction and I get an erroneous total. I've been doing this on Quicken for 10 years or more and have never had this problem.

Best Answers

• rjcharle
    rjcharle Member
    Answer ✓
    Thanks to both volvogirl and NotACPA, but I disagree on two counts. First, why provide a "Split" option on the "Category" field if you can't use it? Second I discovered I can circumvent the problem by turning off the "Quick Fill" option in "Preferences." With that option off I can do exactly what I want.
    The problem seems to be that Quicken prefills the "Amount" field with a value from another account and then greys it out so it can't be changed.
  • rjcharle
    rjcharle Member
    Answer ✓
    Case closed. Thanks to all.

Answers

• Rocket J Squirrel
    Rocket J Squirrel SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2020
    You placed your question in the "Quicken on the Web" category, which is not where it wants to be. You need to tell us whether you're using Mac or Windows, US or Canada, and what version of Quicken, for starters.
    If Quicken is populating one transaction with data from a different transaction, you may have data corruption. We'll need to know exactly what you're running to offer any assistance.

Quicken user since version 2 for DOS, now using QWin Biz & Personal Subscription (US) on Win10 Pro.

• rjcharle
    rjcharle Member
    Sorry for this category error. I'm just learning my way around the site. As for your questions, I am running Windows 10 US Version R30.10 Build 27.1.30.10.
    Here is a more detailed description of my problem: