Budgeting Tax-Free Interest in Quicken for Mac

Options
In Categories under Investments there is a sub category Interest Income Tax-Free. I would like to use that for my 2021 budget.
Problem is that particular subcategory does not show up when entering an investment transaction (i.e. tax free muni bond interest). When selecting Interest Income under the transaction type, the report comes back with Interest but not Tax-Free Interest. When selecting Miscellaneous under the transaction type there is also no Tax-Free Interest category I could use. I have not found a way to enter this under Tax-Free interest. Would appreciate help with this. Thanks.

Best Answer

• Ploooplooo
    Ploooplooo Member ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Hi @RMW, I'm not an expert here, but I do track taxable and tax-free income. When you set up the security there is a tick-box for tax-free. When that box is ticked, any interest income for that security is categorized as tax-fee.
    I don't know about the impact on budgeting because I don't really use that feature.

Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Hi @RMW,

You raise an interesting question, however I have a followup question. 

I am curious about how tax-free interest income versus taxable interest income would affect budgeting.  As far as I can tell, a typical budget doesn't actually interface with income tax calculations at the category level, and that the taxable or nontaxable nature of income - in a budget - is irrelevant to budgeting.  Clearly there are differences between the two when we discuss taxes, but I am having a hard time seeing the differences in budgeting.

Let me know your thoughts on this.

Thanks.

Frankx

Quicken Home, Business & Rental Property - Windows 10-Home Version

- - - - Quicken User since 1984 - - - 
      -  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

• RMW
    RMW Member ✭✭✭
    Options