Securities Comparison Mismatch for E*Trade account

Options
I have been downloading transactions for a few years from E*Trade. At some point in the past, I started getting a message that the balance in Quicken for some securities did not match the balance from E*Trade. This was the "Securities Comparison Mismatch" screen and typically shows up after a new transaction (e.g., dividends) are downloaded.

I have no idea how they got out of balance, and I always just ignore the notice because I don't feel like dealing with it. I know, maybe not the best choice. :/

So I decided to look at it this morning, and when I click on the DETAILS button in that comparison window, to look at the specifics for the out-of-balance security, I get the message in the attached screenshot.

I have been downloading regularly, so I don't know why I am getting this message. Should I just create the placeholder transaction and move on? Or is there something else wrong here?

Thanks!

Quicken Deluxe, Version R49.29, Build 27.1.49.29
Windows 10 Version 22H2 (OS Build 19045.2965)

Best Answer

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2020 Answer ✓
    Options
    Hi @Brian Biggs

The answer to your question depends on whether you want to do the work to find out why you have 0.198 of a share more than the brokerage firm's records.  It also depends on when you last reconciled this account.

If I were to guess, this is likely a duplicate transaction in your Quicken file and it also is probably a "dividend received" transaction.  It could be as easy as scanning the account register for entries, within the time frame from 9/5/2017 to today, with a share number of 0.198 . Or, you could decide that you don't want to spend your time looking, and just accept the placeholder.  Either way, my suggestion going forward would be to reconcile your accounts on a regular basis.  If you do that, it is much less likely that you'll have these issues crop up.