Trouble importing QIF file

Hello,
I am using Quicken for Windows on a Windows 10 platform. I regularly upload cash transactions from a mobile app that I can set to export in QIF. I have been doing this for nearly 7 years. I have recently run into a peculiar problem.
I export the data from the mobile app. When I attempt to import the QIF, it imports the majority of the transactions, but ignores one of the income accounts. The account name is identical. But it does not import those transactions.
I have verified the QIF export does contain the data, so I know that it's there. I just don't know why it isn't importing it.
Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Answers

• Thanks Sherlock for the information. I did try it as explained in that thread and it did not solve my issue.

It is a cash account and for some reason it is not importing transactions that were income. I will do some more testing to see if it is all income accounts or just one. Hopefully by narrowing it down I will be able to find a solution.
  • Alan Williams
    Alan Williams Member ✭✭
    So I am continuing my attempt to find a solution.

What I have done in the application that I export from is that I isolated a transaction that I am having the issue with. When the transaction does not have an account listed but still shows as income, then it correctly imports it into Quicken. Once I put the income account into that field, it no longer imports it.

The account names are identical in the application and in Quicken.

I also confirmed that once I removed the account name from the transaction in the application and exported and imported, it works again.

So for some reason, there is a problem with that account name. Any suggestions?
  • Alan Williams
    Alan Williams Member ✭✭
    More testing has revealed that it has something to do with it being an income account that was not created by Quicken as a default.