A serious flaw that HAS to be addressed properly by Quicken (Mac)

jdoniach
jdoniach Member ✭✭
I've been using Quicken for 20 years on Apple computers. I switched to the new version of Quicken in 2017 and am now on version 6.0.3. For more than three years now I've suffered through, and have had to spend an inordinate amount of time with, the following flaw:

When downloading transactions from a financial institution that is unable to send transactions at that particular moment, somehow the data file becomes corrupted in such a manner that, in order to be able to download transactions again one must delete and reenter the account's username and password. This alone is ridiculous that Quicken cannot fix its programming such that this step is unnecessary.

But what's even MORE ridiculous is that on three occasions now, after this has happened, the following error message appears: "AGGREGATOR_IN_ERROR (QCS_SERVER_ERROR)". The wording of the message indicates that it's a Quicken server error, but in fact it's not. What it means is that the data file has become SO corrupted that Quicken's only fix (at least given to me by Quicken Customer Support) is to export a copy of the data file, then open a new account and import the exported data file. It's very time consuming and tedious.

I know I'm not the only Quicken customer who has suffered through all of this. Until Quicken fixes this issue, I will NEVER recommend it to anyone.

Answers

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    I would be real interested in if the long time Quicken Mac users have seen a lot of this problem, and if the frequency of seeing it has gone up lately.

I ask this as a Quicken Windows user.

As I understand it Quicken Mac went to QCS for Quicken Connect (called Express Web Connect on Windows) accounts many years ago, and my impression that other than a few hiccups at the beginning it was working fine.

Well pretty recently on the Windows side they started a push to get the Windows user on QCS too.