Transaction Functions not working

The " Adjust Share Balance" & " Remove Share" functions are not working to eliminate a growing number of small residual position errors

Comments

• EBM
    EBM Member ✭✭
    I have been using Quicken for many years and the rounding errors and fractional residual shares are becoming problematic and a nuisance. Is there another way to eliminate them ?
  • Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @EBM,

So it seems like you are having issues with your investment tracking, which is a common problem.  One way to deal with those problems - that Quicken just implemented - would be to switch to "Simple Investing". 

If you haven't heard of this you should take a look at this information from the Quicken Help Menu which summarizes the difference between "Simple" tracking and "Complete" tracking:

Simple Investing tracks positions only With Simple Investing, Quicken keeps track of the positions (number of shares for each security) over time, and your cash balances. Quicken’s tracking is based on information provided by your broker.  You portfolio value, net worth, and investment returns over time will be available, but Quicken will not be able to calculate capital gains and losses or investment income. Quicken will display an account summary rather than an investment transaction register when the account is selected. Complete Investing tracks positions and transactions With Complete Investing, Quicken keeps track of transaction detail as well as the the positions over time, based on information provided by your broker.  This is the tracking approach that Quicken has always provided in the past. With Complete Investing, in addition to portfolio value, net worth, and investment returns, Quicken is able to tracks and displays capital gains, and capital losses, and investment income. Quicken will displays the investment transaction register when the account is selected.
    Let me know if you have any followups.

Frankx