How can I undo a reconcilation in quicken 2012

Options
PeteO
PeteO Member
My credit card (discover) sent me a bill with new account balance. I reconciled the bill based on that info. When they withdrew funds (automatically) from my bank account three weeks later they withdrew my stated balance less a charge that I had disputed and that was supposedly closed weeks earlier. So now my reconciliation is off. Can I manually undo that month's reconciliation, and redo it to reflect the correct amount they deducted? My last back up is two months prior. I don't want to go back that far and rebuild all my accounts and activities. Help. Please. I have been using quicken since 1992 without major problems until now!

Best Answer

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options
    If you changed that disputed charge transaction to
    • Amount: $0.00
    • Memo: Void, disputed charge, original amount $123.00
    or recorded an additional offsetting transaction then no, it won't cause another balance difference. I'd leave it in the register as a record that something unusual happened.
    And come next statement, the amount of the monthly payment to the credit card should back to normal, too ... unless, for some reason, the disputed charge were reinstated and charged again ...

Answers

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Happens to me, too, on occasion. The credit card companies don't like to debit more than the actual balance after credits/refunds, so they will charge less than indicated in the statement.
    Just edit the credit card payment transaction amount to what was really debited by the credit card company and your reconciliation and both your credit card and checking account balances should be in sync again. No need to redo the credit card reconciliation at all.
    And speaking about not having enough backups ...

How to properly set up Quicken Backup
    How to make Quicken create a backup for you automatically every time you close Quicken