Investment income reporting

Joe Wasik
Joe Wasik Member ✭✭
edited March 2021 in Investing (Windows)
I have been using Quicken Premier for probably 20+ years for banking and credit cards. Yet in all that time, I never figured out how to get it to cough up investment income information. It's time to ask. (There is a report called Investment Income, but no matter what I do with it, I see no useful information. ) Here's the thing: my financial management account has a dozen different securities. How awesome would it be to have a report showing the income produced by each individual security in any date-range I choose. To be clear, I am only interested in income. Not value, not asset class, not allocation, etc. Just % or dollar income per security. Can Quicken even do it?

Answers

• Sherlock
    Sherlock Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2021
    I think the Investment Income report does provide the information you say you're looking for when we subtotal by security:  open the Investment Income report and select Security in the Subtotal by: pull-down menu.
  • Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    The Investment Income report does exactly what you want it to do.  I use it frequently, myself, to track various types of income, like, Dividends, Interest, Cap Gains Distributions and Realized Gains/Loss.  It is a very flexible report that can be filtered and sorted in a wide variety of ways for any date range for which you have data.  Here is one way that shows the income by security for the last 12 months:
    The far right column shows the investment income by security.
    If you cannot see this kind of investment income information, click on the upper right gear icon to bring up the customization dialog.  Carefully go through each tab to make sure all the options you want are selected and the options you don't want are deselected.

(Quicken Classic Premier Subscription: R54.16 on Windows 11)

• Joe Wasik
    Joe Wasik Member ✭✭