If you are not using the mobile or web application, let's double-check to make sure that the sync is disabled. To do please navigate to Edit > Preferences > Mobile & Web, there will be an on-off toggle. If enabled, please disable the sync.
If the sync is already disabled, can you please verify the file location? Storing an active data file on a cloud or network drive may cause the behavior you have described.