Quicken is killing me...

Sonoran_Bubba
Sonoran_Bubba Member ✭✭
I've been using Quicken Windows desktop for nearly 30 years, for 14 of those years, I worked for Intuit and actually lead Quicken support for a period of time before I left in 2008. I think I know how to use the product and what should be expected of the performance.

Something in the last couple of updates has almost made Quicken unusable. For example, I just did a One Step Update and logged into my primary checking account. Once I selected the account, Quicken behaves as if it is possessed. It bounces from window to window and comes in and out of focus. This goes on for 4 or 5 minutes. Then it is ready for me to accept my transactions into the register. When I click the first transaction in the O.S.U. window, it starts bouncing and "de-focusing" again. At the end of accepting and categorizing the 4 or 5 newt transactions, it auto-reconciles. I get another 4 to 5 minutes of the bouncing windows before I can click over to the next account.

Some of these have been so bad in recent months that the program just locks up and I've had to force quit the application which of course causes data issues corrected by Validation / Repair / Super-Validation.

#HelpMeObi-WanYou'reMyOnlyHope

Chris

Best Answer

• Quicken_Tyka
    Quicken_Tyka Alumni ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Hello @Sonoran_Bubba

Thank you for the response and the additional details.  Do you use the mobile or web app at all? If not, can you confirm if the option to sync to the mobile/ web is on? 

To confirm, please navigate to Edit > Preferences > Mobile & Web, there will be an on-off toggle.  Can you also navigate to the One Step Update settings and confirm if sync to the cloud is selected there? 

If you have sync enabled, can you try to temporarily disable syncing to see if this improves the behavior?

Please let me know what you find!
    -Quicken Tyka

~~~***~~~

Answers

• Quicken_Tyka
    Quicken_Tyka Alumni ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2021