Cost Basis

Hi, I have been investing in mutual funds since the early 1990's. After the initial investment opening the accounts I would purchase more shares monthly and reinvested dividends and capital gains. For the past few years I stopped reinvesting dividends and capital gains, instead I take them as cash. I am trying to export all the fund's transaction history to Excel but keep getting different summaries. What is the best way to export the Quicken history to allow for results similar the cost basis in: "Reports/Investing/Portfolio Value & Cost Basis"? Tnx

Answers

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Why not simply "Print" that report to a tab delimited Text file ... and  then import it into Excel?

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• q_lurker
    q_lurker SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    The report you cite (Reports/Investing/Portfolio Value & Cost Basis) does not present transactions.  The report only presents cost basis and value at specific intervals.  I presume you are trying to cross-check that type of information based on the actual transactions.

"Reports / Investing / Investment Transactions" will list all the transactions and will subtotal by Security, Account, and other criteria.  But that report can be voluminous.  You may want to limit to one account at a time.  You may want to limit the scope of the transactions (Actions or Categories) depending on your intentions.  Familiarize yourself with the various customization options.  

I find the easiest way to move report information into Excel is to use the Export icon / Copy to Clipboard (Ctrl-C), then switch to Excel and Paste (Ctrl-V) [Control key sequences assuming your Quicken is set to use Windows standards.] 
  • vk8tx
    vk8tx Member ✭✭