Creating Sub Accounts for Receivable (Q Win Canada)

2»

Answers

• gj0608
    gj0608 Member ✭✭
    Chris,

Even though I respectfully disagree with your comments on whether or not sub-accounts should have been part of the initial development of the Quicken program, I sincerely appreciate your help and suggestions for the workaround. As previously mentioned, despite being a MacBook user, I'm using the windows version on a virtual machine because:

1. I have been using the windows version since 1996 (25 years); and
    2. I read reviews that the Mac version is not as comprehensive as the windows version (a weak version).

So despite the issues that I may have with Quicken (the aforementioned inability to create sub-accounts and the inability to download the Canadian dollar equivalent of foreign-denominated stock prices), I continue to use the program because I'm locked into Quicken (did I mention I have been a user for 25 years?) and also because some of my financial institutions only allow downloads to Quicken.

Thanks again for all your help.
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    The Quicken Mac "rewrite" is an example of how people way under estimate how many features there are in a product like Quicken, and how long it takes to recreate them.  It is also an example that unlike some people think just because you start again with an example of what such a product might look like, you will still make mistakes along the way.  Some will be minor, others will hunt you for a very long time, if not forever.

In some ways Quicken Mac is and will be better than Quicken Windows (and the old Quicken Mac 2007) at doing some things, but it already has its warts and problems and of course it has a long ways to go before it will have the feature set of say Quicken Windows Deluxe.
    Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭