Advice/tips on tracking large portfolios?

Does there exist a wiki, sticky-post, or guidance document on using Quicken for Windows to track investment transactions of stocks, bonds and funds across multiple custodians? I have seen advice elsewhere to use the Personal Capital application instead. I have been using Quicken for two decades for personal finance but I am unsure how the tool will perform for managing a large portfolio.
Tagged:

Answers

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2021
    See this Support article
    https://www.quicken.com/support/size-or-capacity-limitations-quicken-data-file

Quicken tends to slow down if you have more than several thousand transactions in an investing account. There are ways to work around this if it is an issue for you.

If you can be more specific about what is large about your portfolio - number of holdings, number of accounts, frequency of trading, etc. we can give more specific advice.

Also you should check with your financial institutions to see if they support downloading to Quicken. If not, you will need to enter the transactions manually, which could get tedious if there a lot of them per month.
    QWin Premier subscription
  • gawws
    gawws Member ✭✭
    Thanks for the response. The largest is roughly 300 equities and index funds and 30 bond issues in five account buckets/types (i.e., taxable, IRA, Roth, trust, etc.) spread over five custodians. Infrequent trading but plenty of dividend activity.
  • q_lurker
    q_lurker SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭