Missing Starting and Ending Balances on Transactions Reports

My prior transaction report on 12/24/21 listed both transactions as well as beginning and ending balances, which has been the norm for years. However, my most recent transaction report on 12/31/21 does not display starting and ending balances. My question is WHY? (I am running the latest build: Version R37.62 Build 27.1.37.62)
Tagged:

Best Answer

• NanaB
    NanaB Member ✭✭
    Answer ✓
    OK, I've fixed it. Strange that the solution worked as it did, but I opened one of the account registers in question, selected the gear, More reports, Register report. When it opened, it had the beginning and ending balances. I saved that one to be on the safe side, then returned to the ribbon, Reports item, selected that account, checked the report and it was fixed.
    By the way, resetting the columns did not help. It gave me a balance, but it was nearly $200,000 off.
    I have been using Quicken for 20 years, always printing my reports the same way, so I seldom ever change customization on them, and I've never run into this situation. And only affects 2 accounts, of all of the deposit accounts. I think it probably started when Quicken decided to warn us that there have been changes to categories since we last saved the report. I really don't know what to do with that. I usually just respond to keep the report the way it was when it was last saved. Truly strange!
    But the good thing is that it's fixed now, at least for now. Thanks, Jim, for your assistance.

Answers

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Which report are you looking at? The Transaction (Register) Report (CTRL-P from an account register) or the report from the Reports Menu / Banking / Transaction?
    I'm on R 37.62 myself and, looking at a Reports / Banking / Transaction report I don't see any differences between a fresh report from the computer vs. an old hardcopy report from a while ago.