Quicken Home & Business or Quickbooks? [Edited]

carolvan
carolvan Member
edited February 2022 in Before you Buy
I am an independent contractor and currently have Quicken online. I am wondering if I should upgrade to the Home & Business version of Quicken or bite the bullet and go over to Quickbooks. Any suggestions

Comments

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Quicken is a desktop-based product. If you have desktop Quicken, you can use a web interface to do some, but not all, the things you can do in the desktop program. Is that what you're referring to when you say you "have Quicken online"?

Quicken Home & Business won't change the nature of how Quicken works; it adds some specific features for small business, like invoicing, managing receivables, and some rental-property tracking features. 

Quickbooks online is a very different product — a full-fledged double-entry accounting program.

What features are you looking to add, or what problems are you looking to solve, compared you your current Quicken? 
    Quicken Mac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • carolvan
    carolvan Member
    I currently have the online basic version of Quicken. I was wondering if some of the same features on QB would be included in QHB. I am an independent contractor and don't need a full blown accounting system. where can I find what QHB provides?
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Instead of "Quicken online" I think you are really referring Quicken Subscription.  There is a big difference.
    Subscription is how you pay, "online" implies that you can do certain features in a web browser or mobile device.

Note that none of the business functions are available in Quicken Web/Mobile.  The features you see for business functions like on this page are only available while running Quicken on the Desktop.
    https://www.quicken.com/product-selector