My custom reports are showing up with unwanted categories selected, and I can't save and fix them

MrZipp
MrZipp Member ✭✭✭
edited May 2022 in Reports (Windows)
Some of these reports I have been using for many years, but when I noticed the totals weren't correct, I looked at the category list, and found quite a few items checked that were not supposed to be there. When I fix these, the changes don't save.

I've deleted one of two of the reports, but I still can't save the correct categories.

Any help is appreciated

Answers

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2022
    It is not clear from your description exactly what you did to try to fix this issue, but often re-creating the report starting with the appropriate built in report from the Reports menu will fix problems like this.

Also when you save the report, give it a slightly different name like adding V2 to the end so when you re-open it you know which version you are using. 
    QWin Premier subscription
  • Sherlock
    Sherlock Member ✭✭✭✭
    Do not trust the includes all/any option on tabs of the Customize window of a report.  The feature was added relatively recently and does not reliably determine whether all the items are selected. 

To prevent Quicken from incorrectly defaulting to the all/any option in a Saved report, I suggest unchecking an unhidden item for each tab.
  • MrZipp
    MrZipp Member ✭✭✭
    Thx for commenting. Yes, for a few months now, I've noticed random Categories appearing in my extensive list of reports. These have nothing to do with what I want - like Expense categories in an Income report. If I unselect them, and save, it doesn't save my changes. And I don't know how these come to be checked, as they are not supposed to be.

• MrZipp
    MrZipp Member ✭✭✭