Renew Subscription Banners

Pfeggie
Pfeggie Member
edited May 2022 in Before you Buy
So last year I decided to upgrade my Quicken product. I've been using Quicken since 1991, upgrading every 3-5 years. Last year I found out that Quicken had become a subscription product. I'm not too interested in doing all the online stuff but I wanted to use a more current version of the software. The salesperson I spoke to said that I would still be able to use Quicken after my subscription expired, except for downloading transactions, etc. Since I didn't want this feature anyway, I signed up for the subscription. Fast forward to this year, my subscription has run out and sure I can still open my files, but there is now a "RENEW" banner displayed on 25% of my screen and there is no way to remove it. Had the salesperson told me last year that I would lose 25% of my screen if I didn't renew, I would have stuck with my old product. Now I can't go back. I can only reluctantly pay the renewal, put up with the renewal ad, or find another product.
How do you people sleep at night? Why would you do this to your loyal users? I paid for the product. Why can't I use it without the annoying renew advertisements?

Comments

• Greg_the_Geek
    Greg_the_Geek SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    You agreed to the renew banners when you accepted the EULA. If you're using Quicken Windows, you can go back to either Quicken 2017 or 2016 without the renew banners.
    Quicken Subscription HBRP - Windows 10
  • mshiggins
    mshiggins SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    @Pfeggie
    I sympathize with your predicament. It definitely is not fun to feel like you were mislead by the salesperson. 

What was the prior version you were using?

Quicken user since Q1999. Currently using QW2017.
    Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• Greg_the_Geek
    Since when does Quicken have salesman? Did the OP contact Quicken Customer Care?
  • jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta