Citizens Bank Snafu

actuary314
actuary314 Member ✭✭
I've been using Quicken for about 25 years, and I love it. But my problem with the Citizens Bank download is more severe than the transactions not downloading. When I switched from Direct Connect to Web Connect, most or all of my running balances got messed up. The problem occurred when I imported the transactions and linked them to my existing account. I have about 3,700 transactions in my checking account. I restored the file to an earlier (correct) version, but now have to input prospective transactions manually. I read a pre-6/15/22 post with the same problem (which I now can't find) so I decided to wait until today to do the conversion. I realize now that this was a mistake, but is there a fix for this? I've been a Citizens Bank customer for a very long time, and don't want to switch banks. But when I tried to contact them prior to 6/15, no one there could answer a basic question. (As a direct connect user, did I have to switch?)

Best Answers

• splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Anytime you change download methods or re-establish an Express Web Connect method, there is a chance of getting duplicate transactions since the FITID (unique ID of transactions to prevent dups) could have changed (especially with EWC restarts), so you have to be careful with the first download.
    After that, everything should work as expected.  Lately, Q has been changing the Opening Balance of a register at this changeover, so we have been suggesting to users to enter the correct Opening Balance in the Memo field of that transaction for reference to see if it was changed imappropriately.

-splasher using Q continuously since 1996
    - Subscription Quicken - Win11 and QW2013 - Win11
    -Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓