Can someone help me understand why so much personal data is requested to be shared with BOA download

bransdell
bransdell Member ✭✭
I lost my BOA download configuration when trying to resolve an issue with a broken citibank configuration download that was previously working. When I went to reconfigure for BOA, the login screen showed that I would be sharing an extreme amount of personal information of which I have provided screenshots. I only keep data related to a simple cash account in the cloud. I really need to understand the request for this much private data. What is being done with this data and why is it being requested to be shared with ANY third party company? What is the minimum amount of personal data that I have to share to use the transaction download functionality that I have been enjoying for many years? I have been using Quicken for 30 years and it is important to me to understand why a request to share this much personal data is being made.

Best Answer

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2023 Answer ✓
    I might be mistaken about this but to me it looks like it's just a boilerplate catchall essentially letting you know the full scope of all the kinds of data a 3rd party (in this case, Intuit and Quicken) might be downloading from BofA if they so request it.  I don't think it means that the 3rd party will actually download all that personal information, just that your approval gives BofA the authority to provide some, any or all of that personal information to the 3rd party.