How do I archive 20 years of data?

rCadianne
rCadianne Member ✭✭
I have been using Quicken since 1994. It is now very slow to update transactions. I read that it is probably because I have so much old information. Closed accounts, long-standing accounts .. I really don't need more than 5 years. How do I move data from 2017 and prior to a separate file that I can search if needed? Several accounts I have had since 1990, so I can't delete those transactions as it would ness with my current balance. I have read that the archive function does not work and leaves a mess of your balances. So .. what do I do?

Best Answer

• Mark1104
    Mark1104 Member ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    it is unlikely to be the size of the file at issue.  My file is also from 1994 and i have no issues (file size is 255mg).  How old is your PC/ Laptop - that is more likely the issue in my view.  (mine is under a year old). 

Archiving only moves the banking transactions and not the investment transactions.

Answers

• Mark1104
    Mark1104 Member ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    it is unlikely to be the size of the file at issue.  My file is also from 1994 and i have no issues (file size is 255mg).  How old is your PC/ Laptop - that is more likely the issue in my view.  (mine is under a year old). 

Archiving only moves the banking transactions and not the investment transactions.
  • rCadianne
    rCadianne Member ✭✭
    @Mark1104 , you may be right. My computer is about 5 years old.
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    I haven't found that the computer's age has a lot to do with Quicken's performance. One thing that does how fast the drive is.  Modern SDDs help for instance.  Memory used to be a bottleneck a long time ago, but unless you are running a lot of other programs at the same times as Quicken, that shouldn't be the case anymore.