Registers suddenly wildly out of balance.

rbmagee
rbmagee Member ✭✭

I have used Quicken for Windows for decades. Until recently I never have had a problem with reconciling a bank or bank card account with an online balance. But now I have three accounts that show a Quicken balance thousands of dollars out of balance with the bank or bank card company. If I run Verification in Quicken I abruptly get many new double entries in the accounts in question. I have to examine the accounts and delete double entries, but then the balances still are out of balance. What the heck is going on? PS: I was a CPA. This isn't rocket science. Something is wrong in the software.

Best Answer

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Are all 3 accounts with the same financial institution?

Did this happen after you had done Reset account or Deactivate/Reactivate?

Or did you reauthorize these accounts for EWC+?

There are occasionally some issues encountered when resetting, deactivating/reactivating accounts or reauthorizing to EWC+.

You found one of those issues….duplicate transactions….and deleting them was the right thing to do.

Two other things to look for:

1. Open a backup data file from before when this issue was identified. Write down the Opening Balance transactions dollar amounts for the 3 accounts in question.
    2. Open your main data file and compare what you wrote down with the Opening Balance transactions amounts in this file. If the dollar amounts don't match up, edit the dollar amounts in this file to match what you wrote down.

If your account balances are still off, see if there is a 2nd Opening Balance transaction (with a more recent date) in the account(s) that is still out of balance. If you find any, delete them.

Are your 3 accounts now in balance?

(Quicken Classic Premier Subscription: R54.16 on Windows 11)

Answers

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Are all 3 accounts with the same financial institution?