I need help because the RMDs in my Quicken account are not categorized correctly

Options
Judy
Judy Member ✭✭
I have been using Quicken since 2005. I am 80 years old. I've been reading the comments about how Quicken handles RMDs. I know my 3 accounts are messed up. I give the information to my accountant, but I realized I am not giving the correct information and have no clue how to fix it. I have spent the last 3 days trying to figure this out! I called Quicken Support today and had a lot of trouble understanding what the person was saying. In the end, he said just that I should just ignore that it is wrong! Now I am worrying that the information I give the accountant is wrong! This is totally unacceptable that it is so complicated. Most of the comments people have made are way over my head. Now I am doubting whether I have many things wrong. It is supposed to make life easier, using Quicken, but it definitely is NOT working! What can you do to help me? I am not even sure what category to choose for my question!

Answers

• mshiggins
    mshiggins SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

My first recommendation would be to buy yourself some more time to get the issue figured out. Call your accountant and tell them you need more time to recheck your RMD numbers.

Next, are you able to get your RMD numbers from the tax documents your financial institution? If so, use those tax documents to generate the numbers for your accountant.

Then tell us more about how you've been entering your RMDs into Quicken.

Quicken user since Q1999. Currently using QW2017.
    Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• Mark1104
    Mark1104 Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2023
    Options

RMD calculation is quite easy. What is making is so complicated?

All you have to do is take the balance as of 12.31.22 and divide by 20.2 (which is the divisor for someone turning 80 in 2023) if you are turning 81 in 2023, then the divisor is 19.4.