ESPP Setup Question

Unknown
Unknown Member
edited February 2019 in Investing (Windows)
Newbie Alert!  I am new to Quicken and am looking for guidance on how to add an ESPP account.  Using Quicken 2016 Home & Business (Canada), Windows 10.

This is a two part question (maybe more);

Question 1
My company matches my stock purchases, share for share, there is no discount on the shares I purchase.  The company shares are vested for one year.  Are the vested shares able to be tracked?  Do I need to setup different accounts for both? 

As an aside, when I do setup a brokerage account for the ESPP, it asks me for the amount of shares.  When I go to look at the transactions page, the Share Bal and Inv Amt are not updated.  Do I have to manually update this?  Is this because Quicken doesn't find my ticker symbol?

Question 2
Being that Quicken wants to track everything from one account to another, I began setting up my pay cheque with all the applicable line items.  My pay stub shows the company share match as a dollar value on the earnings benefit side, it does not add to the gross pay but does add to the taxable gross.  How do I add this line item to my pay cheque such that it doesn't add to my gross pay but is tracked for the taxable benefit?  The only other way I see to do this is to add it as an earning, then a make a deduction, which will throw the gross pay and deductions number out of sync from the pay stub.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Jeff

Comments

• K.O. (Win-Premier)
    K.O. (Win-Premier) Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2017
    I'll take a shot at pointing you in the right direction.  I used to have an ESPP and muddled through all the nuances of ESPP and paycheck but my ESPP ended 5 years ago so apologies in advance if I don't have the complete solution from memory.

Account Setup - for me I manually entered these.  Not sure if any brokerage downloads ESPP shares or not.