Help handling Restricted Stock Units for Foreign Stock

jrm
jrm Member ✭✭
edited June 2018 in Investing (Windows)
Windows 7 Quicken 2015R12

I have been tracking non-vested RSUs in Q since 2013. As I was just creating a "placeholder" for our overall financial picture, I didn't think too much about the implication of my methodology. I have lots of experience with Q's ISO functionality and knew that wasn't the method to go. Also, had done a quick search at the time, probably just in Q help, not in the community about RSUs.

I created a non-linked brokerage account. Created a security without a ticker and added single yearly "added" transactions to enter the quantity of RSUs received. In the memo, I added the information about availability date so I wouldn't lose track of it. In our case, 100% vests at the four year mark.

When a handful of shares were forfeited, due to underlying rules, I "removed" that number.

Fast forward to today when I started thinking about the picture not being reflected in Q. 

The vest happened a few months ago and I decided it was time to play with them. I found a few great threads from year's past, and in particular, having been referring to this one...
https://getsatisfaction.com/quickencommunity/topics/how-to-handle-restricted-stock-units-in-quicken

I'm working in a Q copy and created a new non FI linked brokerage account. Created new security names for each RSU granted for ability to track; added in the appropriate RSU quantity and in the one case, removed the forfeited shares.

Then, my aha moment... our RSUs are a foreign holding. I figured out how to turn on multiple currency support and recreated a brokerage account to work with, so that I could change its currency type and reentered my transactions.