Help with sole proprietor income / tax / solo 401k transactions?

I'm looking for advice as to how to enter standard sole proprietor transactions. Referral to a book or web site would be nice.

I currently have a W-2 job and plan to start a sole proprietorship. I earned a business degree long ago but have never been responsible for self-employment taxes or estimated tax payments.

I understand that sole proprietor business income is, in effect, personal income, the difference being that I have to pay self-employment taxes on it. I also understand that I can open a solo 401k and, in addition to individual contribution limits, as "employer" I can contribute an additoinal 25% of my earnings, subject to limits.

I'm a long-time Quicken user and know about associating income and expense categories with tax lines. I'll record business-related expenses as Sch C expense items and reduce those same expenses should I get reimbursed. What I don't know is how to record the normal transactions in Quicken so as to capture the information in relevant tax categories.

I entered a test income transaction and observed that the tax planner forecasted half of the SE tax as an adjustment in the tax planner. How do I record tax liability? Does it not exist on paper until calculate my liability quarterly and record the estimated payment linked to that tax line? Is there a separate payment or tax line for SE tax?

As for a 401k, I found the tax line for SEP deduction (or simple or Keogh or whatever). It seems obvious that's for my personal contribution but how do I record the "employer" portion?

Thanks for any advice.

Comments

• Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited March 2018
    As a sole proprietor, you ARE the employee and employer.