EV Energy Partners Chapter 11 Reorg into Harvest Oil & Gas

Mark251
Mark251 Member ✭✭
edited November 2018 in Investing (Windows)
I had/have 500 shares of EV Energy Partners (EVEPQ). They filed Chapter 11 Reorg and created Harvest OIl & Gas Corp. This process gave me 4 Shares of Harvest O&G (HRST) and 7 Warrants (HRSTW). How does one make this/these entries in QH&B 2017. 

Comments

• q_lurker
    q_lurker SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2018
    I can't comment knowledgeably on bankruptcy-type restructures.  I don't know the ramifications of the change in value and basis - what current losses you might be able to claim.  I am not a tax pro, adviser, CPA, yada yada.  Do you won due diligence with qualified persons.    

I will comment on what might be applicable in Quicken.  This is based on the process applicable for spinoffs.  From a tax and accounting perspective it may not apply!

You received 4 shares HRST and 7 warrants HRSTW.  Those both had defined value at the time you received them (June, 2018).  Currently they seem to be values at about $23/share and $2/warrant.  That suggests the value you received was $92 in HRST shares and $14 in HRSTW warrants for a total value of $106.  The HRST shares are 87% (92/106) of that value.  The warrants are 13% (14/106).  The accepted procedure for those other types of cases would then be to assign 87% of your EVEPQ basis to the 4 HRST shares and 13% of the EVEPQ basis to the HRSTW warrants.  Do NOT take it from me that such is appropriate for a bankruptcy restructuring!

Those prices should be representative, but are not accurate.  You should get accurate values from some reliable source.    

For Quicken based on the above, you would then enter a Remove Shares of the EVEPQ holding, followed by an Add Shares transactions for 4 shares of HRST with a basis of 87% of the EVEPQ holding. Then enter a second Add Shares for the 7 warrants (shares) of HRSTW  with their share of the basis.