Using a quicken database going back 20 years, getting $0.01 rounding error

mike11
mike11 Member ✭✭
I have a quick data file that I have been using for 20 years. I recently upgraded from quicken 2014. As part of the upgrade did an audit before committing to the new product I did an audit of the new version.

first I validated the data base.

Then I made sure all the account balances matched (the do).

Next I went to do some report comparisons. I compared some of the Investment Performance reports from the old (2014) version to the new version. I found there various differences between the two reports.
1) some of the cash values differed by $.01 between the register and the reports on the new version (they were ok on the old version)
2) some for the "misc expenses" were missing in the report but present in the register (these were all ok in the old version).
3) others (its a large report) and i have not checked everything yet

I spoke to Quicken tech support, and they told me they do not recommend using a file this old as it will be large and corrupted at some point and there is nothing I can do about it. They told me it has nothing to do with with the jump from 2014 to the current version (interim steps would have made any difference). So basically if I want to have reliable access to the data I think my best step is to stick to 2014 which does not sound like the best solution to me.

Has anyone else been using the same data base this long? What has your experience been? How have you worked around these issues?

Comments

• Dan Glynhampton
    Dan Glynhampton Member ✭✭✭✭
    In the past I’ve used a Quicken file for around 20 years through various conversions and not encountered corruption problems; that said, it’s not impossible that small problems in the database can be uncovered by changes in the code when you upgrade.