Different default categories showing for different Quicken files

Options
markswot
markswot Member ✭✭
I manage Quicken files (Quicken Deluxe - Windows) for a few family members. Personally, I have been using Quicken for over 10 years. I recently created new QDF files for my other family members (under new names, of course) to help track their finances separately.

When I look at the "standard" category choices, they are different for the newly created file than for the one I have been using for 10+ years. For example, if I want to categorize something as a Doctor expense, under the newer files, I see a Doctor subcategory under Health and Fitness.

On my older file, I see Doctor as a subcategory to Medical.

This is one fairly simple example of many other differences.

These are not categories that I created but rather ones that are presumably on the standard list provided with the Quicken program.

I am not sure why I am seeing this difference. I am guessing that at some point, Quicken changed the standard categories.

I know I can manually go in and modify my older files to be consistent with the current file. but was wondering if there was some other way to convert the old categories to the new ones. or maybe use the new ones for future transactions on my original file.

This is not a big problem, but it would be helpful to be consistent between the files. There have been times I looked up how to do certain things, using the categories, and the answers assume the newer categories are the ones in use.

Answers

• Rocket J Squirrel
    Rocket J Squirrel SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options