Profit and Loss statement is wrong or I don't understand...

Options
So, I own a small C-corp and have used quicken forever. Yesterday, an anal retentive refi broker asked me for a p/l report for Q1 of 2021. My financial tracking needs are pretty basic. I have one primary customer, and one primary employee (me). So, the transactions are pretty basic: monthly income, wages, taxes, and a monthly expense report.

Fair disclosure - I started using Quicken as a personal tool and upgraded to the home and business years ago. I pretty much went with the categories in existence plus whatever Quicken included by default. I'm an electrical engineer, not an accountant, so I suspect I just don't understand the report I am looking at.

When I run the p/l report, the income is correct, but the taxes show up as income? I'm also missing monthly expenses. Attached is an edited screen capture.

Are there defaults for how the p/l collects the data? I haven't found these yet. All of the accounts in the report are tagged as business related. The other starter question I have - why do my tax payments offset my wages? I guess in a p/l statement, I would expect to start with income and subtract taxes, wages and expenses. Why is the overall total a sum?

Appreciate and insight.
pl.jpg 36.8K

Best Answer

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Hi @Charlie2640