Opening old files without Quicken ID, and without installing my current version

Options
EmKay
EmKay Member ✭✭✭✭
I have an old file I need to open just to see if it contains transactions that I didn't bring over (for some reason) into my current file.

When I try to open it with what I assume is the current version of Premier (I have a subscription) - I get a TEENY TINY sign in screen.  Even if I wanted to use my Quicken ID, or create a new one, I couldn't - because I'm unable to type anything into that screen (and it's so small I can't really see what I'm doing).  Unfortunately, I did pick the "use another ID" option so now I can't even get into my active, current file - that's a big deal.

I also read that Quicken 2013 could still be downloaded for viewing old files - but that requires deinstallation of the current version and I don't really want to do that, either.

What are my options, here?  

Update:  I was able to, on entering the fields multiple times, enter my quicken ID - but I get "We are unable to contact the Quicken server."

Help!

Quicken Classic Premier (Windows) R52.33

Comments

• EmKay
    EmKay Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2022
    Options
    UPDATE #2:  I was able to get my quicken ID and password into the freakishly small login screen so I at least have access to my current file.  But I really need access to this older file.  I wish there was a Quicken "viewer" software!

UPDATE #3:  Using my current quicken ID apparently did open the old file (hopefully with no adverse impact to my current file).  I would delete this post but I don't think I'm able.  I believe this issue is (clumsily) resolved.

Quicken Classic Premier (Windows) R52.33

• Ps56k2
    Ps56k2 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Depending upon how far back the old file is - your current version should open it - as you have discovered....
    Also - Quicken is like MS Word - in that the data is kept external to the program, in each Quicken QDF data file.