Issues with Quicken Deluxe importing Categories and Splits via QIF?

Options
nc3man
nc3man Member ✭✭

I was a user years ago and recently I needed a current version of Quicken to help a colleague with their bookkeeping.

I'm a s/w developer and used QIF formatted files before (~20 years ago) to import data. With a clean copy of the latest Quicken (Quicken Deluxe Subscription). I created a single category with two subcategories - see attached.

Stripe Payments (root)
└─ NCCC Dues
└─ NCCC Donations aMember
└─ NCCC Donations Web

I created an account 'NCCCtest' to test the QIF file I constructed with Import > QIF.

My test QIF file has only 5 transactions, inserted below since I could not attach a .qif file here.

, that map transactions into all the possible categories. There are two problems.

(1) The 5th transaction with the split is not even read.

(2 )Of the first 4 transactions amount, payee, memo are imported, but the Category is ignored. I build QIF files with code that had done this reliably before (long ago), but I suppose there could be an error.

On this community when I searched, I noticed some complaints about importing both categories and split payments with this latest Subscription version. Are these issues real? Can I revert to an early version? I swear that I wouldn't have had an issue with the version I last purchased (sadly 15-20 years ago and no longer have it).

!Type:Cat
NStripe Payments
E
^
NStripe Payments:NCCC Donations Web
E
^
NStripe Payments:NCCC Donations aMember
E
^
NStripe Payments:NCCC Dues
E
^
!Account
NNCCCtest
^
!Type:Cash
D2023-05-25
T4.55
MNCCC Donation $5.0
PKarl Rudnick
LStripe Payments:NCCC Donations Web
^
D2023-05-25
T9.41
MNCCC Donation $10.0
PKarl Rudnick
^
D2023-05-25
T4.55
MNCCC Donation $5.0
PKenneth Chin-Purcell
^
D2023-05-25
T19.12
MNCCC Single
PDavid Suarez
LStripe Payments:NCCC Dues
^
D2023-05-25
T28.83
MNCCC Membership + Donation $30.0
PKarl Rudnick
LStripe Payments
SStripe Payments:NCCC Dues
$19.22
ENCCC Single $20.0