Envelope budgeting: Does Quicken allow for negative balances (across months)?

Options
williampeck1958
williampeck1958 Unconfirmed, Member ✭✭
edited August 2023 in Before you Buy

I did Mvelopes for 14 years, it was good for me. Then I started a new system, which I've been using for 7 months. It's ok but the main thing I don't like is it does not allow for negative balances (to go forward to the new month).

I will admit I got lazy with Mvelopes, basically I kept spending and running negative balances in envelopes. And I got lazy with CC spending (in regards to reconciling each month).

Main think I want to know is about negative envelopes. And could you point me to videos or articles that explain the concept / principles of Quicken? This is just for home use, me and my wife.

Thank you.

Tagged:

Best Answer

• Rocket J Squirrel
    Rocket J Squirrel SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2023 Answer ✓
    Options

Quicken for Windows has no concept of envelopes. It has a feature called Savings Goals which might be similar enough to envelopes to fulfill the need.

Quicken is based on accounts, which correspond to real world bank, credit, investment, etc. accounts. An account can have a negative balance. Credit card accounts almost always do, for example.

Savings goals are pseudo-accounts which represent the desire to save up enough money to achieve a goal. If you want to envision physical envelopes, each time you put money in the envelope, you would transfer it from a real world account into the savings goal account in Quicken.

Quicken user since version 2 for DOS, now using QWin Biz & Personal Subscription (US) on Win10 Pro.

Answers

• williampeck1958
    Options

I did search on this forum for "negative envelopes" and nothing jumped up.

• Jon
    Jon SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options

Mac or Windows? Quicken Mac doesn't support envelope budgeting; I don't know if Quicken for Windows does.

Quicken Mac subscription. Quicken user since 1990.

• williampeck1958