Here's a Workaround for QW UI issues in hi-res and multiple display configurations

Options
Gregg107
Gregg107 Member ✭✭✭

Apologies in advance for the long post, but I might have a solution to the myriad QW UI issues in hi-res and multi-display use cases. I've followed the discussions on problems with QW not displaying properly on hi-res and multiple monitor configurations. I'm an IT professional with over 40 years experience and this appears to me to be a problem with the app UI code. HOWEVER, I have found a workaround that works for me.

PROBLEMS: Problems include drop-downs displaying on a different monitor from the main program, scale problems in drop-downs and scale problems in UI elements such as menus and dialog boxes.

CONFIGURATION: My configuration is as follows:

Display 1 is a Microsoft SurfacePro 8 tablet (32GB, 1TB-SSD). Native display on this tablet is 2880x1920 and scale is set to 200%. Display 1 is set as the main display which is Windows' default and I experienced the UI problems above, regardless of which display QW was started on or moved to.

Display 2 is a Samsung 34" curved, resolution 3440x1440 and scale 100%.

Display 3 is ViewSonic 27", resolution 1920x1080, scale 100%.

All monitor settings are the Windows recommended settings.

QW has no compatibility settings enabled (i.e. all checkboxes in the Compatibility tabs are deselected).

SOLUTION (for me at least): Reading the other threads and user reports, it occurred to me that QW code has a classic problem in scaling up for hi-res use cases from a lower main display res. SO I changed my config so that display 2 is my main display (since it is the highest res). And the QW problems are GONE, regardless of which display I start on or move QW to.