Import and Convert Old (2010) Microsoft Money Data To Latest Quicken Version

Options

I've been using Quicken since 2010 and absolutely love it. I used Microsoft Money for several years prior. Today I just found some old Microsoft Money .mbf files. Can I still download a version of MS Money today and use my old 2010 .mbf files to set up MS Money & then import and convert that data to the latest version of Quicken? I use Windows 11 now but also have a computer running Windows 10. Do any of you recommend or not recommend adding the old Money data to Quicken? Any tips or suggestions to facilitate the process?

Comments

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

About MS Money conversion

Any currently supported version of Quicken for Windows (Deluxe or higher feature level
    required) will directly import a MS Money data file into the currently open
    Quicken data file (File menu / File Import / MS Money File) , but
    - the MS Money file must have been opened at least once with MS Money Plus
    Sunset Edition (V 17) so it's converted to the latest file format.
    - you MUST have MS Money Plus Sunset Edition installed on the same computer
    that Quicken runs on.
    - unless fixed, MS Money will not run on Windows 10 (see below). If you have a
    computer running Vista, 7, 8 or 8.1 (but NOT XP) use it for the conversion.
    - close MS Money before trying to convert the file with Quicken.
    https://www.quicken.com/support/how-do-i-importconvert-my-microsoft-money-work-quicken-windows

If you need to download MS Money Plus Sunset Deluxe or Home & Business go to

MS MoneySunset Editions - QuicknPerlWiz

Caveat: MS Money does not run under Windows 10 unless you apply this fix:
    http://www.thewindowsclub.com/use-microsoft-money-on-windows-10
    I have no idea what side effects this fix might have on future Windows Updates …