Changing Placeholder entries

sgoldberg124
sgoldberg124 Quicken Windows Subscription Member ✭✭

I have a transaction (actually several) that have N/A in the Cash Amt column in the Register. I read that these are Placeholders and to check at the bottom of the Register for Placeholder Entries. But I have none shown, the count is zero. Its possible I did a "Accept All" when I should not have. (This is my first time working with downloaded transactions.)

I have deleted that transaction and tried to manually create it, and it still shows N/A.

How can I change the transaction to have a value in there and not N/A?

Thanks

Steve

Windows Quicken R53.32 Build 27.1.53.32

Answers

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman Quicken Windows Subscription SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

Sometimes Placeholders are hidden.

First go to Edit >Preferences > Investments and make sure the Show hidden transactions box is checked. This will reveal the Placeholders if they are hidden.

Placeholders will have a gray background in the account’s transaction list (register) even if they are not selected, and will have “Entry” in the Action column.

Placeholders compensate for missing or incorrect investing transactions by forcing Quicken’s share balance for a security to match a specified value on the date of the Paceholder. This is usually the share count downloaded from your financial institution (FI).

Because transactions are missing or incorrect, Quicken will not be able to compute the cost basis or performance for the affected securities. You will see asterisks in the Portfolio views for this data.