Quicken crashes while opening data file

Options
paj418
paj418 Member ✭✭

I have been using Quicken since 1993 (over 30 years). Current using subscription Classic Deluxe (R54.16, Build 27.1.54.16). Installed on 2 computers (up-to-date Windows 11, HPs) sharing the data file from an NAS drive. Ethernet connections for everything. Computer #1 uses Quicken daily w/o any problems. Computer #2 uses Quicken only occasionally. Yesterday Quicken updated on #2. After loading, it presented the Welcome screen. After trying to load the data file, Quicken hung. Task Manager showed no activity at all. Rebooted. No change. Reinstalled, rebooted. No change. Uninstalled, deleted Quicken folder, rebooted, reinstalled. Quicken presented a white screen. "File\Open Quicken File" showed high activity 15% CPU usage. This lasted for 15 minutes and then:

I tried putting the data file in a shared folder on Computer #1 and loading from there. Same result. I have no idea how to proceed. Any ideas would be very much appreciated.

Answers

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

IMHO, your data file should NEVER be shared among computers. Quicken is not designed for this kind of activity.
    The problem you describe looks to me like Quicken is waiting for a lost network data packet (I/O from the data file) which will never arrive.

Recommend you restore your data file from a backup taken before this problem first occurred (or at least move your data file) and store it in a folder on your C: - drive which is NOT processed by Microsoft OneDrive while Quicken is active. The default location is C:\Users\_your_username_\Documents\Quicken

Run BOTH Validate and Supervalidate to attempt to repair your Quicken data file.

Validate and Supervalidate instructions
    First save a backup file prior to performing these steps
    Validate: 
    • Click File
    • Select Validate and Repair File...
    • Select Validate File