Savings Goals/Categories and Transfers to Checking to Make Payments

Options
LCC Treasurer
LCC Treasurer Member ✭✭

Complete Quicken newbie here. Searched the resources but can't find an answer, or perhaps I'm just not understanding what I'm reading! I've read that you CAN'T categorize transfers. Is there a work-around? Example: I have 3 categories in my Savings account. If I transfer $300 from my Savings account, Vacation category to my Checking account to pay for airline tickets, how do I reduce the Savings-Vacation category? I only see the transfer from [Savings] to [Checking]. Savings total reduced by $300 and Checking total increased $300 (good). But how do I specify the $300 savings reduction to my Vacation category? Any help is appreciated, and in non-accountant terminology, please. I just installed Quicken subscription for Windows. Not synching with my bank, just using manual entries for now. Thanks! ⭐️

Best Answer

• QuickUserPSP
    QuickUserPSP Member, Windows Beta Beta
    Answer ✓
    Options

@LCC Treasurer normally transfer transactions between accounts are linked and considered one transaction. Transfers are just that - movement of cash from one account to another. Where the category comes into play is when payment is actually made for the airline tickets.

Transaction 1 - Transfer from Savings to Checking for 300.00.

Transaction 2 - Pay the airline for tickets purchased for 300.00 out of Checking using the "Vacation" category.

Together these two transactions show where the 300.00 originally came from and what it was used for.

Answers

• QuickUserPSP
    Answer ✓
    Options

@LCC Treasurer normally transfer transactions between accounts are linked and considered one transaction. Transfers are just that - movement of cash from one account to another. Where the category comes into play is when payment is actually made for the airline tickets.

Transaction 1 - Transfer from Savings to Checking for 300.00.