Suggestions for a category

I've been using Quicken for over 20 years and have a very newb question.

I recently started using a new primary credit card with the idea of closing another one out. I was curious to see how much I spent on it over the years. So I opened the CC register, tapped "spending" above the register and thought the total number would be the number I was looking for.

But I realized when I make a payment I categorize it as "Credit Card Payment" in my checking account register AND my CC register. So naturally Quicken sees that category as "Spending" and it completely skews the total.

I want to see the total of purchases, not including payments. Would I need to create a new category for the CC register when I make a payment or is there another workaround?

Tagged:

Best Answers

• RickO
    RickO Quicken Mac Subscription SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Answer ✓

Is the payment transaction in the CC register a positive (green) number? If so, it should not be included in the Spending tab, nor included when you filter the main register by Type:Income. Could you post a screenshot of the latter to show what's happening.

BTW, the best way to record the payment from your checking account to the CC is to use a Transfer transaction. You enter the payment with category "Transfer" (or "Transfer:Credit Card Payment") in the checking account with a negative number. You enter the CC account name in the Transfer column (or use the category column shorthand "Transfer:[CC account name]". This single transaction entry gets linked to a sister transaction that gets created in the CC account. This would also solve this issue.

Quicken Mac Subscription; Quicken Mac user since the early 90s
  • RickO
    Answer ✓

Could you redo the screenshot to include the column headers? Can't tell what's what on this one. Then another screenshot, but with the Type:Spending filter invoked?