Reinvesting a Return on Capital (Dividend)

Mac
Mac Member ✭✭
edited January 2019 in Investing (Windows)
Greetings,

I've reviewed many of the questions/answers regarding ROC but did not see anything specific to Reinveting (automatically) an ROC payment.  I have quite a few Equities that automatically reinvest their dividends.  But when one of those payments is a Return on Capital, Quicken (now 2017 Premium running on Windows 7) can't handle the transaction in one-step.  After all these years, Why Not?!?

Although new to this forum, I've been using Quicken since 1994 (DOS) and have never quite figured out how to make this work (if it ever has or can).  Would greatly appreciate finding out how to properly enter an Auto-Reinvested, ROC payment so it adjusts my Cost Basis figures correctly.

Thank you for your time!

Mac

Comments

• mshiggins
    mshiggins SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2018
    There is no one step transaction type to record a return of capital and a subsequent buy using the returned funds. You could post an idea here on the forum suggesting it be added and see how many votes it gets.

Quicken user since Q1999. Currently using QW2017.
    Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• q_lurker
    q_lurker SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2018
    The only way to enter a RtrnCap transaction where the proceeds are reinvested is to use two transactions - a RtrnCap and a Buy Shares.  There is little difference in the end result of that pair as compared to a ReinvDiv or ReinvInt transaction where the two are built into one.  The primary difference feeds of the fact that Quicken computes an Amount Invested parameter and an Amount Reinvested parameter.