QWin 2016 (R6): Change security name to new (correct) name

Scatr
Scatr Member ✭✭
edited July 2018 in Investing (Windows)
Hi, I have been using Quicken for many years (20?), and I am starting to use some of the features I never used before.  For instance, I have an investment account (Roth IRA) that contains one mutual fund.  I have always entered the transaction data manually, and the security name is one I created myself.  I would like to enter the actual security symbol and use the actual security name of the mutual fund.

I have added the 'real' security information by adding it online via Tools - Security List.  Now, though, I have years of history under the old security name that I would like to change over to the newly added security.  I would prefer to keep all the history intact.

Any recommendations on the best way to do this?

I should note that I have multiple accounts that use this same mutual fund.  So, in one account where I was using my prior practice (my own security name), I changed that security to the 'real' security.  So, the process worked well for that account, and updated all occurrences of my own security name to the correct, 'real' security.

However, for the other accounts that, in reality, use the same 'real' mutual fund, I can't do the same thing, since the Edit Security function in Quicken rightly points out that I already have that security, so I can't perform the update.

Appreciate any recommendations on how best to do this.

I am using Quicken 2017, R6.

Comments

• q_lurker
    q_lurker SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2018
    Any recommendations on the best way to do this?
    a)  Delete the security you just created.
    b)  For the original security you created, Edit the security details (You can get there from the security list, ctrl-y, and change the name to anything you want.  There is no requirement that the name in Quicken match anything in the real world.