Net Worth and Portfolio Values don't match

2»

Comments

• Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited November 2018

Match holdings to the difference - I attempted to see if any one or two positions (holdings) matched the ~$18K difference, and was unable to do so, so I have no idea why the $18 difference exists between the Net Worth report and the Portfolio Value report. Brokers report and Quicken portfolio match exactly. The problem appears to be the Net Worth report and how it arrives at a different value.
    Validation - yes did both simultaneously. I did not "Delete Price history", since I need it going back over 5 years.
    Any thoughts on what to try? Also, I am unable to "drill down" in the net worth report to see details, when I try, it just brings on the account transactions?

I am having the same problem with Quicken 2015.  I am a CPA and very skilled in drilling down and finding errors.  In one instance I can see the transaction register correctly accounting for a stock purchase of 1,000 shares at $14 per share for a total of $14,000 cost to purchase, only to see my IRR calculations be driven to a negative 99.999% because the IRR calculator used $1,400,000 as my cost basis.  in a separate account, I sold a security or two for $100,000.  Somehow these securities were entirely deleted in the Net Worth and IRR calculations - as if they do no exist.  So my Net Worth report understates the historical account balances because it does not include the "deleted" securities and my IRR reports are inflated because the account value jumps by $100,000 when the replacement securities are purchased.  

I purchased Quicken to serve as a tool to help me monitor my long-term portfolio performance.  Quicken is proven so unreliable, I have abandoned Quicken for these purposes and all Quicken users should be made aware of these defects immediately.  So disappointed.
  • was_a_guru
    was_a_guru Member ✭✭
    edited June 2017