How Do I Change Invoice Default Due Date?

I select: "Invoice defaults" but after entering the new: "Due date:" and clicking: "Okay" I receive the following error: "Please select an existing account to proceed." So I click the drop down box next to: "Tax account" but it is empty. First, how do I correct this? Second, I've been using Quicken to send invoices for the past several months without this so called: "Tax account" and it has worked okay. However, this appears to be a vital setting so why would Quicken allow me to go this far without setting up this account?

Best Answer

Answers

• Greg_the_Geek
    Greg_the_Geek SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    In Forms Designer, is the Sales tax box checked?
    Quicken Subscription HBRP - Windows 10
  • alteredstate82
    alteredstate82 Member ✭✭
    > @Greg_the_Geek said:
    > In Forms Designer, is the Sales tax box checked?

No, it is not checked.
  • Greg_the_Geek
    Apparently, you need to have a Tax Account to change the default due date. I would enable Sales tax on your Invoice form, create a new Invoice, and then create at Tax Account. You can then set the default Due Date and remove Sales tax from the form.
  • mshiggins
    mshiggins SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    From C. D. Bales:
    " ... this appears to be a vital setting so why would Quicken allow me to go this far without setting up this account?"

I think your statement is a mis-characterization.

The first time you create an Accounts Receivable account in Quicken, Quicken automatically creates the *Sales Tax* account and places that account name in the Set Invoice Defaults > Tax account dropdown ... where it can be selected.

The fact that the *Sales Tax* account may not appear selected at that point is not "vital" as long as you do not decide to use sales tax on invoices (and having no sales tax account to select only becomes "vital" for those who want to change the Due Date default).