how to categorize money in bank when starting with Quicken

Options
Disclaimer: I'm new to quicken and trying to figure out the best way to organize things. I've tried searching for answers but I haven't found any so let me know if I missed anything.

I'm running Quicken for windows through a subscription. I've gotten my bank accounts synced in, but I am not sure how to make quicken show how that money is earmarked. From what I understand, I can either use categories in my budget, or savings goals. What are some of the pros and cons for both options (and any other ones I'm missing)?

To categorize the money in the bank, I have tried creating a seperate budget for the first month, but the category balances for the next month are off. Any ideas how to fix that? Is there a better way to earmark the existing money in the bank?

Also, on a side note, is there a way to set a date range for a budget (aka a specific budget won't show up before a certain month and year)?

Best Answer

Answers

• David Christopher
    David Christopher Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    "I am not sure how to make quicken show how that money is earmarked."

Savings Goal is the way to go with earmarked funds that will remain in the account but not be reflected as available to spend. Make the Goal in Planning>Savings Goal.
    Next set up a Transfer Reminder in Bills and Income Tab for each Goal. 
    The money will be in the account but it will not be reflected in the in the Balance Column of your register unless you right click on the Account Bar and select 'Show savings goal transactions in register'.

Your online balance after a reconciliation will reflect what is in bank and include the sum of your savings goals for that account.