Why is WellsFargo401k showing as negative in Quicken (Mac) when balance is positive online?

Options
I'm only new to Quicken for Mac, when it comes to monitoring investments (401k, etc). I'm a longtime user when it comes to regular bank accounts.

So this is odd, I have investment accounts at TDA and Wells Fargo.
The TDA downloads into Quicken are correct.

But Wells Fargo 401k info that I just downloaded into Quicken is completely off from what shows up online. Any suggestions on how to correct?

Thanks so much!

Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Hi @FayOnQuicken.

We are going to need more information in order to help you.

So can you confirm that the Well Fargo account is completely new in your Quicken file - that is you weren't tracking that account prior to the recent download?

How long have you owned  this account?  How many months of transactions were downloaded into Quicken? Did the Quicken program setup a placeholder entry in the account?

Get back to us and we'll go from there.

Frankx

Quicken Home, Business & Rental Property - Windows 10-Home Version

- - - - Quicken User since 1984 - - - 
      -  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

• FayOnQuick
    FayOnQuick Member ✭✭
    Options
    Hi @Frankx,
    Thanks for your questions.
    (1) Yes, the WF account is completely new in Quicken - just added yesterday.
    (2) The actual account is a little over 4 months old -- started Nov 2019
    (3) Dates for downloaded transactions are: 11/01/2019 - 03/13/2020
    (4) What do you mean by placeholder entry? My guess is the Quicken program did not set this up -- since I don't know what's this means.
    (5) Probably further complicating all of this is that I'm a novice to investing terminology -- so for example, I just searched for "placeholder" in Help on Quicken and landed on a page
  • FayOnQuick
    FayOnQuick Member ✭✭
    edited March 2020
    Options
    Hi @Frankx,