Delete old securities???

RChan
RChan Member ✭✭✭
I have been using Quicken for Windows since the early 2000's. There were quite a few securities that the original companies are no longer in operations. Since there were transactions to those securities, I cannot delete those securities without deleting the associated transactions.

Any idea/suggestions on how to delete those obsolete securities without affecting the account's final value/balance?

Thank you in advance!

Comments

• q_lurker
    q_lurker SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    What do you expect to gain by deleting them?  I don't believe it will change program performance.

You might try hiding them to ease selection of securities from a drop down list.    
  • miklk
    miklk SuperUser, Windows Beta Beta
    Jut hide them as there is NO way to delete a security that has any transactions.
  • Rocket J Squirrel
    Rocket J Squirrel SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2020
    You can do it, but it's a pretty drastic sequence of actions and it is probably not worth the effort and the loss of history. But as long as you make sure you have a good backup in a secure location, and you have some free time, you can try this.
    miklk said:
    there is NO way to delete a security that has any transactions.
    This is correct. The key is to get rid of the transactions first.
    For simplicity, let's say you have only one brokerage account, named Brokerage, which contains obsolete securities you want to delete.
    1. Open the Brokerage account.
    2. In the gear menu, choose Archive Transactions.
    3. Go through that process, which will do a Backup, Validate, and move all transactions containing zero-share securities into a new account called Brokerage-Archive. Your balance in the original Brokerage account should be correct, but you should double-check it.