I have purchased a new car and attempting to set up the loan and an asset account for the car.

Options
I have created an asset account for the new car. I posted a transfer from credit card to that asset account for the down payment ($5,000), I also posted transfer (from old asset account for the car I traded in ($26,000)) to close out that account and increase the new asset account That part seems OK.

I set up a loan account for the amount financed ($20,849.85) term (60 months), interest rate (0.9 %), start date (11/22/20) and so on. I want to track principle and interest. The loan payment calculated in Quicken for Mac ($355.51). I edited to reflect 12 cent difference in the payment (My retail installment contract shows a $355.63 payment). Quicken shows it as additional principle, though it actually is interest (daily compound).

Sorry I am long winded. I do not download any transactions and prefer to do manual entries. I haven't had a loan in 20 years. So I am not very experienced in setup.

I plan to do an annual depreciation to the asset account to reduce the value of car or at least that is what I have done in the past.

My questions are:
1. If I setup the way indicated above. Do I merely edit the monthly transaction to reflect the actual breakdown of the split?
2. Can I transfer the principle payment to the new asset account to track my equity change?
3. Am I handling the depreciation correctly?

I have always found the community very helpful and I hope someone can help reassure me I am doing it correct.

Best Answer

Answers

• John_M
    John_M Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2020
    Options
    It sounds like you're on the right track. You've created an asset account equal to the purchase price of the car, which according to your numbers is $51,849.85 ($5,000 credit card payment, $26,000 trade-in, plus $20,849.85 loan).