Quicken R31.8 and Crossover - any problems

todivefor
todivefor Member ✭✭
I am a little late. I have been using Quicken for about 18 years on Mac OS X 15.6 virtualizing Windows 10. I've tried the Mac version, don't like. Just discovered and installed Crossover trial. First day of 14 day trial. In my limited experience, seems pretty good. I plan to run in parallel til I make a decision. Anything to discourage me from going this route? I am only evaluating out of convenience.

Comments

• GeoffG
    GeoffG SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    There are many Mac users running Quicken Windows through VM ware. Cannot vouch for Crossover, but there are a few VM ware options for Mac to consider. 
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Well just going off of what I have read in threads on the two.  A while back there was one person that said they had a problem with Crossover, but he came back a couple of days later to say that they had fix it.  So the Crossover folks seem to be pretty good at responding to such problems.

On the other hand I have now seen two threads on people using VMWare and finding that they can't login to their Quicken Account (with the Quicken Id).  And the recommended fix to that was to use Parallels instead.
    Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • todivefor
    todivefor Member ✭✭
    Thanks to both. I've run both Parallels and Fusion since sometime before 2010. No problem with either. Out of convenience, giving Crossover a try. So far, easy install and at first glance looks good. I'll report back before the trial is over. Just looking for any deal breakers that others have found.
  • smayer97
    smayer97 SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    You may already know this but VMWare Fusion v12 is now free for personal use, which runs on macOS Catalina 10.15 or higher.

Have Questions? Help Guide for Quicken for Mac
    FAQs: Quicken MacQuicken WindowsQuicken Mobile
    Add your VOTE to Quicken for Mac Product Ideas