Property vs. Business Tags affect Tax Planner Data

Options
Cyclist
Cyclist Member ✭✭✭
OK - I've been using Quicken for 30+ years. I tried using Rental Property for a couple of years to manage my rentals, but I found it less than desirable, especially in handling overpayments/credits, so retuned to running my rentals thru the Business (Customer Invoices) interface.

My problem is that even though I use the category "Rental Income" (which is associated with Tax line Schedule E Rents), the income does NOT flow thru to Schedule E in tax planner.

In fact, it appears that unless any transaction (even one that originates from a checking account) is tagged with any tag other than one of type "Property", it will NOT flow thru to the planner.

Unfortunately, a "Property" type tag cannot be selected when creating an invoice in the Customer Invoices ledger (they're not even visible). You CAN select a "Property" type tag from a non-business ledger (such as a checking account), which will then flow to the Tax Planner (if you don't do this, it won't even though you use Rental Income as the category).

Not sure if this would have been the case had I never used the Rental Property section (maybe I'll create a new dataset and test), but this shouldn't be the case no matter what!

If the invoices created in Customer Invoices (a Business ledger) using a Rental Income category (associated with Schedule E) showed up as Schedule C income in the tax planner, it "might" make some sense (not really), but instead, the income just evaporates with respect to Tax Planner, not showing anywhere.

IMO, Categories (provided they are associated with a Tax Line) should always flow to the corresponding section of Tax Planner (regardless of what ledger they originate from), whereas Tags provide a way of "grouping" transactions. Any comments by a Quicken moderator?

[edited for readability]

Comments

• Cyclist
    Cyclist Member ✭✭✭
    edited September 2021
    Options