vault not taking my password or letting me change it.

Options
I'm new to the program and spent the entire day loading all my accounts. I wrote down my vault password so I know it's right. It keeps telling me it's wrong and if I try to reset the password by clicking the link next to the password, it does nothing. quicken says they weren't able to remove the password. What now?

Answers

• Weathers89
    Weathers89 Unconfirmed, Member
    Options
    I as well am unable to login to my Quicken. I've never set up a file password, now its asking for file password. I click on the "Password Reset" Link and nothing happens...
  • UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    I as well am unable to login to my Quicken. I've never set up a file password, now its asking for file password. I click on the "Password Reset" Link and nothing happens...

That's a totally different problem. If you get prompted for a data file password when none existed previously, your Quicken data file may have been damaged and needs to be restored from the most recent Manual or Automatic Backup created prior to the problem first occurring, if necessary going back to older backups until you find a file that does not exhibit these symptoms.
    https://www.quicken.com/support/how-backup-or-restore-your-quicken-data
  • UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    tara25604 said:
    I'm new to the program and spent the entire day loading all my accounts. I wrote down my vault password so I know it's right. It keeps telling me it's wrong and if I try to reset the password by clicking the link next to the password, it does nothing. quicken says they weren't able to remove the password. What now?

What password are you getting prompted for?
    • The Vault password
    • The Quicken data file password
    • The password associated with your Quicken ID?
    Three different passwords. Three different problems ...

If you are getting prompted for the Vault password: