Category groups not showing up in budget, only "Personal Expenses"

I am trying to create a budget that includes categories in multiple groups I have created. On the "select categories to budget" window I have selected categories from those groups. Those categories are not showing up in my budgeting window. The only categories I see to budget are from the "personal expenses" default group.

Thanks in advance for any pointers.

Best Answer

• KTubman
    KTubman Member ✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Issue resolved. I had Groups that contained both income and expenses. When I split those (creating new groups for income and for expenses, can't use the old group) it worked as expected.

Answers

• KTubman
    KTubman Member ✭✭
    Sorry, I have a subscription to Home & Business, windows.
  • Scooterlam
    Scooterlam SuperUser, Windows Beta Beta
    In the categories to budget dialog, when you select your newly created category group, you see nothing (no categories) in the window.  See image below that shows my custom category group and the categories I reassigned to it from Personal Expenses.

If you don't see categories in this custom group (above), then are you sure you have reassigned those categories from Personal Expenses to your new custom group?  Just checking  :)

• KTubman
    KTubman Member ✭✭
    Thanks. No worries on asking a basic question. I am certainly not beyond a basic mistake. In fact, I suspect it is something basic I'm doing wrong now.

In this case, when I select my custom groups on the "Select Categories to Budget", I DO see, and have selected some categories.
  • KTubman
    KTubman Member ✭✭
    And here's the category list, showing that I have assigned these categories to the Group.
  • Scooterlam
    Hmmm... Budget might not be liking a Category Group and a Category to be named the same - Jewel of the Isle?   I came across this some time ago - an oddity using same names.  I'll search the forum for this post to see if it is what I am thinking.